Tavistock Guildhall (A story of policing)



Like some phoenix rising from the ashes, Tavistock Guildhall and police station were built from the ruins of the old Abbey of Tavistock. In 1848 a new guildhall was opened by the Duke of Bedford for the occupancy and work of the local Justices of the Peace, the parish police service and the fire brigade. Little did the Duke envisage that his magnificent building would be used for that purpose over one and a half centuries later until 2012.
This is the story of law and order administered from this iconic West Country building